8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2010 6:41 AM by davidbeisner2010

Need advice on PC selection for Premiere(newb)

Nate Vance

I have read Harm's FAQ post about choosing a computer but I'm still skeptical on which PC to choose from so I thought I might ask some other premiere users since I have no experience in it myself.

I actually work for a school district and am trying to find the best bang for our buck since we will be buying 10 of these for the sole purpose of running premiere CS5

The current work stations my district is looking at is an HP Z400 Workstation(we typically buy everything from HP):

Intel Xeon W3530 @ 2.8GHz 8MB Cache

6GB RAM (1333MHz i think)

300GB 7200rpm SATA II HD

NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 (768MB)

Cost: just under $1800

After doing some research about Premiere and looking at benchmarks of some other users PCs this is the other rig I'm looking to propose we buy to save some money:

Intel Core i7-950 @3.06 GHz 8MB Cache

Asus Sabertooth Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX Motherboard (Triple-Channel DDR3 FCLGA1366 ATX Mainboard w/ 7.1 HD Audio, GbLAN, USB 3, SATA III, SATA-II RAID, 2 Gen2 PCIe, 1 PCIe X1 & 1 PCI)

12GB DDR3 1600MHz

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 465 (1GB)

640 GB SATA III HP 7200RPM

Cost: just under $1500

to me the i7 seems like the winner but maybe you guys know something I don't, any suggestions??

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Need advice on PC selection for Premiere(newb)
          davidbeisner2010 Level 3

Your custom built rig looks like the winner to me, for sure... not only because of your CPU, but also because you've doubled your memory. Only suggestion I would have is that you swap out that graphics card for the GTX285 or the GTX470 (which was recently added to the list of CUDA supported cards). I don't remember seeing the 465 on the list of supported cards (though I may be wrong).