8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2010 8:09 AM by brainbuzz

Premiere on a Dell Studio 15 laptop advice

davidb81

Hey guys, just wondered if someone could help me out with some friendly advice

Looking to get new editor, been using Avid Liquid but looking for something more compatible with windows7 as I’ve been having some issues.

Now I’m not a professional editor but like to use good software but I do not have a monster PC, i edit on a laptop (because i travel a lot and like to edit on the move) And its not the most powerful beast...

here are the specs

Dell Studio 15

Intel Duo 2.40Ghz

4GB Ram

ATI Mobility 5470 1GB

500 GB HD

Windows 7

I’m not sure if that spec is up to the job to be honest. I’ve played about with the trial version and it seems ok, rendering takes a long time and when viewing video without rendering I can only play about 20seconds before the video freezes and slows down. This also includes adding in effects or transitions ect... Not sure if this is my low spec computer or this is in fact normal(!) (as I said, never used premiere before)

Basically I’m asking do you guys think that I will run into problems using this laptop with premiere… I’m not a full time editor, I edit simple films/videos I’m not making lord of the rings or anything!

So any advice would be very grateful

Many Thanks J

• 1. Re: Premiere on a Dell Studio 15 laptop advice
          Harm Millaard Level 7

It does not meet the minimum system requirements. It is way underpowered for even the simplest tasks.

Look here: Adobe Premiere Pro CS5: System Requirements

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Premiere on a Dell Studio 15 laptop advice
            Angus(silentG) Level 1

Harm,

Have you ever edited video on a laptop with those specs?

Angus

• 3. Re: Premiere on a Dell Studio 15 laptop advice
              brainbuzz

Hi Harm.