5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 15, 2010 7:14 AM by Ed.Macke

PRE 9: Application Error

dhillis1

I am a High School teacher at the local High School.  One of the classes I teach is Video Production.  I am trying to use premiere elements 9 but keep getting the following errors.  Any help is appreciated.

Premiere Elements.exe - Application Error

The instruction at "0x7c9505a3

" referenced memory at "0x6f900834". The memory could not be "read". Click on OK to terminate the program

I get this error sometimes as soon as I open the program and sometimes it will run for a while before giving me the error.

Premiere is loaded on the local HDD but because of profile restrictions the students in my class are saving the projects to a network drive and are also using the network drive as a scratch disk.  I know this isn't preferred but for now is required.

• 1. Re: PRE 9: Application Error
          dhillis1 Level 1

ok....another computer and another error....same message but now it is

0x2dc44f4e

and

0x7fdc9ce4

• 2. Re: PRE 9: Application Error
            Ed.Macke Level 3
            saving the projects to a network drive and are also using the network drive as a scratch disk.  I know this isn't preferred but for now is required.

Yowza. The project files are relatively small (a few megabytes) so you may get away with a network drive. I can't imagine the program even working with a networked scratch drive - I tried using a 5200 RPM IDE drive instead of SATA drive and it was almost unusable.

Your I.T. department should make rules that work for you, not the other way around. I say this working in I.T., so you can tell them I said so

• 3. Re: PRE 9: Application Error
              dhillis1 Level 1

well i said for now because they are working on a solution.  It is aggrevating trying to use a program that I paid a lot of money for so the kids could use and not be able to use it because you never know when it will crash.