4 Replies Latest reply: Oct 19, 2010 8:20 AM by pilotguy737 RSS

CPU spikes and editing lag

Jeff Pannone

Hello everyone,

I've been having issues of lag in LR when doing heavy editing.

Lightroom version 3.2.0.610

My machine specs are:

- Core i7 2.8 GHZ

- 6GB 1066 DDR3

- 1280MB DDR5 Nvidia graphics card

- OS & Apps on 120GB SSD (20GB free)

- Storage (photos, etc.) on 1TB WD Caviar Black

- Corsair Hydro H50 cpu cooler (w/ 6 fans total. cpu temps btwn 33c and 60c during LR/PS usage)

I'm fairly new to lightroom; about 1 year, where last 3 months have been heavy usage. During heavy usage in a single session (lots of photos having been editied via back and forth from photoshop/lightroom as well as plenty of editing in LR.) I'm experiencing strange CPU spikes, where all cores spike from 5-12% to 40-80%. Memory usage is usually somewhere around 2.5 to 5 GB, depending on the type of editing i'm doing (from single portrait to panorama editing). I take that as normal, since the files can be quite large. However, the cpu spking is leads to lagging when using various tools and I'm not certain that is right. I understand editing RAW photos (mine on average are 9-13 MB) between PS and LR is intense, but it seems a bit extreme for my system.

Does this sound right? could it be the way my catalog is setup or perhaps that I have alot of photos that have been edited in the catalog?

right now my catalog contains 2658 photos, spread across 8 folders. I did notice the lagging and cpu spikes happen more often when i'm editing a file in a folder/album that already has alot of photos edited in it.

Any suggestions/help would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Jeff

• 1. Re: CPU spikes and editing lag
          Ian Lyons CommunityMVP