7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2010 6:47 AM by Rebekkah Angel

CMYK to RGB to CMYK again...why?

Rebekkah Angel

I'll be the first to admit - I am relatively new and inexperienced when it comes to color management.

I am a prepress tech - 6 years now or so. Been in printing for 24 years - was a conventional stripper before that.

Not a complete dummy but I was never exposed to the old ways of electronic prepress -

My question is a "why?"

We have a PDF based workflow running Trueflow.

Because we have an older version of Trueflow that requires specific settings in order to accept PDF files, I have a certain criteria that supplied PDFs must meet.

I don't always get them that way - so I have a preflight routine where I open all PDFs and check them for spots/RGB/Lab color swatches, etc and convert as needed to CMYK. I then flatten them in PitStop extreme and run them through my rip.

We do not have the ability to proof with ripped PDF files - therefore, when a PDF proof is required, I want it to be the print file that will be used to output to plates.

OK - now you have a little background about my methods -

Here is the question.

My client was supplied a CMYK vector PDF ad.

Artist for the client opened ad in photoshop, rasterized it and converted it to RGB, placed it in his Quark document and sent the 16 page PDF file to me

I received it, noted that the file was full of spots and RGB and did a conversion back to CMYK in pitstop

We sent a PDF proof to the client, who approved it (for the record, when we PDF proof, we assume that color is not critical otherwise the client would have asked for a matchprint)

OK - so we print the booklet and client is very unhappy with the color on the back page.