5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2010 1:04 PM by shooternz

Experienced Sony Vegas user trying to learn Premiere

OlympiaTim

I'm a part-time editor. I've used Vegas for everything I've edited in the last decade. I'm attempting to switch to Premiere.

The media I edit most is Panasonic P2 MXF's and now MOV's from the Canon 7D/5D.

I'm noticing that when the timeline is playing if I click any of the "Toggle Track" buttons, playback stops. Is there a way to mute a track during playback without stopping playback?

I've found how to enable Preview Playback on a second monitor (Sequence Settings / Playback Settings / Extenrnal Device / OK) but is there a quicker way? It seems that needs to be "OK'd" every time I start Premiere even though the settings remain configured properly.

Is it true that Premiere does not support external control devices (like the Mackie Control) for track control? Searching online seems to suggest I'm out of luck.

How are the Lynda's Premiere tutorials? Any recommended resources for an moderately experienced editor learning Premiere CS5?

• 1. Re: Experienced Sony Vegas user trying to learn Premiere
          Tminus10web Level 2

Lynda's training videos are superb.\

When you are creating a new sequence, click on the general tab, then playback settings, then external device... choose the one you  want.  then, down at the bottom, there is a save preset button... click it, name it, and then use this new preset when creating new sequences and PRESTO!

As far as adjusting audio during playback, you can do that in the 'Audio Mixer' Panel without interrupting playback.  You can even automate the actions and adjustments you make in the audio mixer panel over time.

As I am relatively new to Premiere myself, I am unsure as to the external control devices.

Hope that helps,

David

• 2. Re: Experienced Sony Vegas user trying to learn Premiere
            OlympiaTim Level 1

Thanks, David.

re: The external preview...