8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2010 4:30 AM by Pixelgazer

Need help choosing optimal hardware for a laptop that will run AE CS5

sc2nut

BACKGROUND INFO (Questions listed below)

I need some help figuring out the best hardware configuration for a new laptop. I’m a student at a design school and I will be using the laptop to mainly run After Effects and to a lesser extent Photoshop and Illustrator. I don’t need to worry about 3D rendering software or Premier Pro. I am primarily interested in getting the best performance during editing. I am not looking for the best performance for final output. I would prefer to sacrifice final output times for better editing/interface performance.

I will be working with standard definition content and perhaps HD up to 720p on occasion. I do not need to operate in resolutions higher than 720p. My projects are generally animation and use many sources and many layers.

I’ve been reading up on optimal hardware configurations for CS5 but my understanding is still a little foggy and I would like to use this thread to figure out how to build the best machine for my budget. The budget is about $1400 to $1600 CANADIAN after tax.

I DON’T need help finding the laptop. I will search for it on my own. I just need to understand the best hardware to purchase within my budget.

I realize that it is probably impossible to buy the laptop I want with the hardware configuration I need “off the shelf”. Instead I will be looking for a good base model (~$900-$1100) and I will purchase the necessary hardware upgrades separately. I will not be purchasing a Mac.

Right now I’m thinking of a machine built something like this:

- 15”-16” screen (17” models are too big/heavy)

- Mid to high end i5 processor OR entry level i7 quad core

- 8GB RAM (I would go to 12GB, but it’s hard to find a 15”-16” laptop with 3 memory slots)