8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2010 5:37 PM by jpodlesnik1

I need help choosing a new desktop computer

SalCanz

Hello A

Looking through this forum, I can see that people are both helpful & knowledgeable; so I’m hoping that you can help me. I am way behind all of you both in expertise and computing needs, so please forgive me if I sound a bit stupid. I last shopped for a computer several years ago and am finding that I have to work to even understand the specs now.  But my current desktop is seriously unwell, so I am shopping for a replacement. I’ve used PCs for years and don’t think it makes sense for me to switch to Apple at this point. My notebook runs on Windows 7 which, in general, I like. I have a new monitor. I’d like to spend  aaround $1000 but can go higher.

The Adobe programs I’m using are CS2 (mainly for InDesign as I am a book artist) and Photoshop Lightroom 1.1 . I probably will upgrade eventually, but I’m not in a hurry to do so. Also, I use Lightroom the most, so will probably upgrade that sooner than CS. I do a lot of still photo editing but am not particularly into video editing. My scanner is an Epson 4490 – not new but still working well. I want to be able to print photos without having the printer spooler paralyze my computer. (Sometimes I use Quimage to print and it grabs quite a lot of memory to do so which makes my current desktop miserable.) My word processing favorite is WordPerfect; my web browser is Firefox; and I use Quicken for financial stuff. I am a "fontaholic" and tend to have a lot of fonts installed. I’d like to keep many of my photos (which I shoot at high resolution) on my desktop hard drive, even though I do have several portable hard drives. I want to be able to play CDs or iTunes while I’m working.