2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2010 6:08 AM by Noctiis

Need help choosing the right Robohelp tool for the right reasons

Hello everyone,

I am an educational consultant who is hired to develop an online help system for a piece of (web)software.

I have never developed online help (I did however use Captivate extensively for e-learning purposes).

I have very little IT background and all info I find is very hard for me to understand, so I hope placing my problem here will clarify some things.

The requirements for the online help tool:

- Usable in web environment

- Easy to translate in a later stage

- Multiple users should be able to work on the Help file, preferrably simultaniously

- Easy merging of Help files, as customers will keep developing the help on their own while we also develop new topics. Check for redundant/changed topics etc.

My main question is: Do I need Robohelp 8 or Robohelp Server? It is my understanding that Robohelp Server allows multiple people to work in one help project by checking topics in/out. Does Robohelp Server include all features of Robohelp 8? Is one copy of RH Server enough to let, say, 4 people on different pc's work on the help file?

Other question: Are all of the requirements realistic with Robohelp? Is merging of different versions of the help project easy? Is exporting all text from the help to a document which a translator can work with, and then importing it again easy?

Thanks a million if anyone can help me!!

Kinds regards,

• 1. Re: Need help choosing the right Robohelp tool for the right reasons
          RoboColum(n) Level 5

Hi Peter and welcome to the RH forums.