8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2007 10:02 AM by Newsgroup_User

how did you learn flash?

OheneCoker
      I am a newbie to flash. I want to learn actionscript 3 with flash cs3 pro. I have tried many tutorials and books but they are all b.s 'cause when I try things out they never work.
      Can anyone out there please direct me to some sought of good, reliable set of tutorials for flash cs3 pro which actually works. Pleeeeaaase
        • 1. Re: how did you learn flash?
          jcarruth@earthlink.net Level 1
          Ohene,

Try looking at the Flash CS3 Tutorials on Lynda.com. You can preview some of the movies for free to see if you want to sign up, and then you can sign up for as little as $25 a month. I have found the quality consistently good.

jcarruth
          • 2. Re: how did you learn flash?
            Rothrock Level 5
            Well most of the books and tutorials I use work just fine. You just have to follow them closely. My guess would be that you aren't so good at following directions. ;) Nothing wrong with that we all have our ways of learning, so I would suggest that further tutorials and books probably won't be too helpful.

I learned mostly by answering questions here on these forums.

The other way I learned a lot was to download samples and poke around in them. Back in the day I downloaded a lot of examples from flashkit.com
            • 3. Re: how did you learn flash?
              Rothrock,

"My guess would be that you aren't so good at following directions." What makes you assume that? Any evidence other than your own predjudice that Ohene is not very good at following directions? Or did you ever stop to consider that the directions she has been given are just plain poorly written. No, of course not, cause YOU can follow them.