9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2010 7:09 AM by e20dylan

shatter effect question

e20dylan

Hello so this is my first after effect EFFECT so im kind of slow but learning as fast as i can. Basically i took a still ima

ge then applied shatter to it. made it a video and everything works but the thing is i want the still image to be 6-7  seconds long THEN the shatter effect to take place and ive been through all the shatter settings and im really new to after effects if anyone can help thanks!

basically the shatter effect that im usin is just the default one where the glass breaks or whatever

• 1. Re: shatter effect question
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

First, if you're new to After Effects, I recommend that you begin here and work your way through all of the materials linked to:

http://blogs.adobe.com/toddkopriva/2010/01/getting-started-with-after-eff.html

Regarding the specific question about the Shatter effect, here's an answer from the Shatter effect page of After Effects Help:

"Note: To begin the shattering at a time other than layer time zero, animate the Radius property, not the Strength property. Pieces inside the force sphere defined by the Radius property are pulled outside the frame by gravity even if Strength is set to 0. Use Hold keyframes on the Radius property with the value 0 until the time when you want the shattering to start."

• 2. Re: shatter effect question
            e20dylan Level 1

thank you for the reply i am in the shatter settings now and i see radius but im unsure of what you are talking about when you say hold keyframes?? Ive clicked on every keyframe button under animation at the top and none of them did anything that i can see. im not understanding how to get my image to display for 6 seconds i just read the shatter tutorial and i still dont get it

• 3. Re: shatter effect question
              e20dylan Level 1