8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2010 4:47 AM by Colin Brougham

CamStudio Lossless avi - only audio is imported

MikeAllenUK Level 1

Hi all,

I'm having trouble getting a CamStudio Lossless-encoded AVI to import into Premiere Pro, wonder if anyone can help me out? I'm completely new to PP, so it may be something to do with my project setup! My video uses the LZO compression algorithm and is exactly 1280*720 pixels with 44.1khz mono 16-bit PCM audio. When I use the Import option within PP, I the audio timeline of my voiceover appears, but the video window remains blank. The import appears on the left-hand side with a speaker icon next to it, which I presume means that PP believes the file to only contain audio... I've tried using VitualDub to convert the entire file into an uncompressed AVI, but the sound becomes very juddery and *I think* the video speed slows as well.

Any help much appreciated!

• 1. Re: CamStudio Lossless avi - only audio is imported
          Colin Brougham Level 6

There's no 64-bit version of the CamStudio codec; 64-bitness is required for AVI editing in Premiere Pro CS5. Check out either Lagarith or the Ut Video Codec, both of which have 64-bit versions that work well in CS5, and are popular amongst users here.

• 2. Re: CamStudio Lossless avi - only audio is imported
            John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Back at the main page http://forums.adobe.com/community/premiere/premierepro_current go to the SEARCH THIS FORUM ONLY and enter

camstudio

Read the other message threads

• 3. Re: CamStudio Lossless avi - only audio is imported
              MikeAllenUK Level 1

Thanks Colin! Worked a treat! I'm probably opening a can of worms here, but is there any info on which of the two is best? Thanks again for your help!

• 4. Re: CamStudio Lossless avi - only audio is imported
                MikeAllenUK Level 1