Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Trying to add a bookmark to existing PDF using iText

Oct 20, 2010 Oct 20, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have copied code I located on cfsearching for concatenating pdfs and including any existing bookmarks ( http://cfsearching.blogspot.com/2007/12/getting-started-with-itext-part-17.html ), have purchased the iTextinAction book, but am stuck when trying to add a new bookmark. I keep getting the message '

java.util.ArrayList cannot be cast to java.util.HashMap.

I suspect I am not adding my own 'custom' bookmarks to the list of existing bookmarks correctly. I tried changing the list of existing bookmarks from an explicit vector (this was how the example was written) to an array instead, but still have this issue when I try to close my document. Following is the code I have modified. I would appreciate any help. I am not a Java programmer and am really struggling to understand how this works and how to make changes to it.

<cfscript>
  savedErrorMessage = "";

// cfSearching: All file paths are relative to the current directory
  fullPathToOutputFile = ExpandPath("./Concatenated.pdf");
  arrayOfInputFiles = arrayNew(1);
  arrayAppend(arrayOfInputFiles, ExpandPath("./Version control.pdf"));
  arrayAppend(arrayOfInputFiles, ExpandPath("./iTextinAction,SecondEdition.pdf"));
  try {

pageOffset = 0;
      PdfReader = createObject("java", "com.lowagie.text.pdf.PdfReader");
      SimpleBookmark = createObject("java", "com.lowagie.text.pdf.SimpleBookmark");
      // cfSearching: Internally CF stores arrays as Vectors. So I chose to use an explict vector
      // cfSearching:  here, but you could use an array and CF array functions instead
      allBookmarks = createObject("java", "java.util.Vector");

outlines = arrayNew(1);
     arrayAppend(outlines, 'Pirate Jack');

for ( fileIndex = 1; fileIndex LTE arrayLen(arrayOfInputFiles); fileIndex = fileIndex + 1) {