6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2010 5:28 PM by Harm Millaard

Budget build - advice on remaining parts

Indio22 Level 1

Having gotten some good advice here and read through many posts (great info), I have collected several parts for my relatively budget build (close to $1000 dollars as possible).  The PC will be used for CS5, Visual Studio 2006 (.net coding), and some average office apps and web surfing.  Not ideal I know, but for now, one PC will have to do. 

My primary goal in terms of the CS5 video editing/effects capability, is that the PC can accomplish the tasks, and do it in reasonable time.  I only have SD video camera now for live action.  Will be doing animations also.  Can't comment on type of files yet, just starting out.  Since I am an amateur, I don't have time constraints like the professionals.  But I would rather not find the PC is in-capable of accomplishing a task, for some technical reason, or because it bogs down. 

Here are the parts I already have:

Item                              Part   
      -------------------             -----------------------------------                                           
      Motherboard                  GA-X58A-UD3R Gigabyte             
      Power Supply                TX650W Corsair                          
      Graphics Card               GTX 460 Gigabyte                          
      Memory                         3x4MB (12MB) Mushkin                   
      Storage Drives (2)          SpinPoint F3 1TB Samsung 1TB 7200rpm   

Total cost so far is: $722.94 (USD).  (Assuming I get all the rebates returned, lol)

I am hung up a bit on the following items:

CPU:  Nearby MicroCenter helps with the i7 price.  I don't know whether I should get the 200 dollar i7 930, or spend the extra 30 dollars for the i7 950.  This is my first built PC, and as of now, I don't plan to overclock.  Is the 950 worth the extra 30 dollars?