9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2010 10:10 AM by TonyzToyz

Photo/Video editing PC build; what would you change and why?

F!SCH3R

I'm in the planning phase of my first photo/video editing PC build.  I've done quite a bit of research to this point, and I've finally come to a decision on all of the components (I think).  After seeing how helpful everyone is on this forum, I decided to post my plan and see what everyone thinks.

Miscellaneous info:  I am an amateur photographer looking to expand my horizons and venture into the video realm.  I will be running Windows 7 64bit with Adobe CS5 Production Premium and Lightroom 3 on a singe solid state drive and everything else will be on a 3 drive RAID 0 config.  Eventually I plan on purchasing a RAID card and a few more drives for a RAID 3 (or 5) config, but that won't be for a while.

Ok, here's my planned build...

ComponentDescription
      ProcessorIntel   Core i7 - 950 3.06GHz Quad-Core Processor
      MotherboardASUS   P6X58D-E LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
      MemoryCorsair   Dominator 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Memory
      System DriveCrucial   RealSSD C300 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive
      Data Drive(s)3 - Western   Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal   Hard Drive (Configured in RAID 0 for now)
      Optical DrivePioneer   BDR-205BKS Blu-ray Burner
      Video CardEVGA   GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) SuperClocked 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16   HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
      Power SupplyCorsair   HX Series CMPSU-850HX 850W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 80 PLUS SILVER Certified   Modular Active PFC Power Supply
      CaseLIAN   LI PC-A71F Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case
      MonitorNEC   MultiSync PA271W-BK-SV 27" Widescreen LCD Monitor with SpectraViewII   Color Calibration Solution

So, what would you change and why?

I'm looking forward to your responses!