3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2010 11:11 AM by Jeff Schewe

Why is Preview Only the Default for Sharpening  in the Detail Panel?

Grafx01

I am new to Camera Raw. I upgraded to CS5 after purchasing my first DSLR. I had spent dozens of hours processing many raw images I captured. Since there was no manual, just help files, I tried to figure out how to use it the best I could. I spent a considerable time sharpeining each image and reducing noice. I would then save them as JPEG files. They looked great while in CR. I just purchased the book Real World's "Camera Raw with Adobe Photoshop CS5". I read that the default was preview only and they said it should be changed to for all images. Now, I went back and looked carefuly at the images I had processed. Indeed, the sharpening was not applied and all that time was wasted! I now have to go back again and reprocess most of the files. After reading the book, I now have a better understanding on how CR works and can probably improve on my previous attempts. Anyway, WHY did they make it as a default? I bet many people had processed many files before realizing that the sharpening changes were not saved.

• 1. Re: Why is Preview Only the Default for Sharpening  in the Detail Panel?
          JimHess-DIrcbP Level 3

It seems to me that you have either misread or misinterpreted something in your reading.  Lightroom and Camera Raw come with default settings.  Those default settings may not be right for your situation, so you have the opportunity to change those settings to what ever you need.  If you want to, you can even change the default settings so that they include the adjustments that you have made.

The sharpening adjustments that you make in Camera Raw or Lightroom should be included in any images that you finish in Photoshop or export from Lightroom.  At least that is how it works for me.

• 2. Re: Why is Preview Only the Default for Sharpening  in the Detail Panel?
            Bill_Janes Level 2