5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2010 1:19 PM by Harm Millaard

How should I setup my HD configuration

bradford33

I have looked at Harm's guides and learned a lot, but I am pretty new to the RAID and video editing community and would like some direction and advice.

I currently have bought all of the parts and pieces for my build with CS5 (Premiere Pro) in mind.  The main parts related to the HDs are:

MoBo - Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R

HD - 1TB Samsung F3 7200rpm 32mb x 2

CPU - Intel i7 950 3.06ghz

OS - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

RAM - Corsair 12gb 1300 ddr3

I really need guidance on how to setup my HD situation.  I am mainly going to use this machine to edit video that I shoot on my Canon t2i.  I plan on using After Effects and Photoshop a lot as well.  I may eventually get around to learning some of the other programs in the CS5 suite, but for all intents and purposes this machine is to edit video from my t2i.

Should I RAID or not RAID?  I read Harm's guide on this, but truthfully a lot of it was Greek to me.  I was wondering if someone could dumb it down for me al ittle bit to help me understand.  I currently only have 2 HD's, but I am thinking I need a 3rd for sure because I want the OS and programs on a seperate HD.  I initially thought I would do the OS and Programs on 1 HD, then RAID 0 two seperate HDs, but now I am afraid this is a bad choice for video editing purposes and all of the data I could lose if I was in the middle of an editing session.  Also, if I do RAID, I would really prefer to utilize my onboard RAID controllers on my Motherboard because I've spent too much money on the system and can't spend the money on a proper RAID hardware controller.

If anyone is kind enough to walk me through the best setup for my situation, I would be greatly appreciated.  I enjoy doing things myself and would love to learn something new and just need some of the terminology explained to me like a child, I'm not embarassed to say.

Thanks!