4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2010 4:11 PM by k3dj

viewable area - artboard v stage conflict

k3dj Level 1

I have a simple animation created in Flash Pro - It works fine and when I run the project the stage area displays as it should just fine. No problem there. If I choose the Publish Preview HTML again it all works perfectly in the browser as intended.

However . . . when I import the SWF into Flash Catalyst and place it on a layer, something wild happens. The animation is no longer contained in the stage area as expected.

A symbol in the animation increases it's scale but as it does so, the outer edge region should bleed off the stage and no longer be visible as it leaves the stage borders. When tested in Flash Catalyst though - the symbol can still been seen when it has left the stage.

I am new to both these Applications so forgive me if I have missed something which is really obvious to those of you who are familiar with Flash. If it obvious to you then it is your help I need here please . . . what have I done wrong ?

I am secretly falling in 'love' with Flash Catalyst but it manages to freak me out and evade me so often

• 1. Re: viewable area - artboard v stage conflict
          Nate B.

This is a problem I've run into as well.  The solution I used to resolve this without having to re-publish the SWF (I hope this works for your project) is to convert the SWF to a custom component, edit in place the component, then use the modify menu to turn off 'Auto size component bounds', then turn on 'Clip to Component Bounds'.

• 2. Re: viewable area - artboard v stage conflict
            k3dj Level 1

Thanks for the response Nate

I went through the process you suggested but I encountered problems. The result was I lost the ability to use the timeline function for the SWF which was a simpe 'fade' in and then a function to 'play SWF'

As it stands, when converted to a Custom Component, the artwork displays but there's no animation and that's an issue for me.