8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2016 11:07 PM by Mylenium

Roto Brush on a still image

BVdotcom Level 1

I am new to After Effects so please bear with my question.  Is it wise to use Roto Brush on a still pic or should I remove the background in Photoshop?  I have been playing with a 10 sec composition and the roto brush works great to remove the background, but then it has to work throught the whole ten seconds.

I have removed the background in photoshop, but this was a little more time consuming.

What is the opinion of the pros?  Thanks in advance.

Bill

• 1. Re: Roto Brush on a still image
          RuesterProd Level 1

I have the same question....  I saw that this hasn't been replied to.

• 2. Re: Roto Brush on a still image
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

It doesn't realyl make sense to use RB on still images. The algorithm simply doesn't work that well if it cannot find any moving edges. You'll get much better results using Photoshop's Edge refinement tools, which have been greatly enhanced in CS5.

Mylenium

• 3. Re: Roto Brush on a still image
              RuesterProd Level 1

Thanks for your reply Mylenium!

I am stuck in a bit of a workflow catch 22...

Here's what I'm trying to do:

I have a bunch of slides (Powerpoint) in .pdf form. They go along with a video of the live presentation. I am overlaying the slides for better viewer visability and I am also animating them a bit since the lecturer uses a laser pointer, to point out specifics on the slides, but I lose that in the overlay, hence the added animation.

Since the slides are pretty cartoony, and roto/masking quality is really not much concern, the roto brush works pretty excellent for quickly singling out the subject matter I want the audience to focus on.