4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 28, 2010 3:08 PM by JimHess-DIrcbP

ACR Camera Profiles - missing?

NADImages

I'm new to ACR and would like to open a .nef file using a Nikon D3 camera profile.  I'm running the last version of cs5 and ACR 6.2 (updated today).  When I open the file in ACR, I see the Camera Calibration tab, and the Camera Profile pop up menu.  I see profiles that look generic, like Camera D2X Model 1, Camera Vivid, etc.  I looked in Adobe Application Support (Mac OS 10.6) and see a long list of camera profiles, including the D3..what am I doing wrong?  I'm missing something for sure.

• 1. Re: ACR Camera Profiles - missing?
          JimHess-DIrcbP Level 3

The profiles you see listed are the profiles that have been created for your Nikon D3.  You will never see your camera model listed in that list of profiles.  Camera Raw will only display the profiles that have been created for that camera.  The "generic" list that you referred to is the list of profiles Adobe seems to routinely create for Nikon cameras.  I have that same set of profiles for my D90 and my D40.  The list appears to be the same, but they are separate profiles that have been created for different models.

• 2. Re: ACR Camera Profiles - missing?
            NADImages Level 1

Two questions, then.  Where would I find an explanation of what each subprofile does (or am I just supposed to look at the effect and choose whatever I like)?  I didn't see anything in Adobe's help on this.  And why would the list include the Nikon D2X?  I think that's the predecessor model to the D3, but I'm not clear why that profile is included.

• 3. Re: ACR Camera Profiles - missing?
              JimHess-DIrcbP Level 3