12 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2012 5:26 AM by joe.fannta

Bluray H264 specs

Ausdigital

I have started working with CS5 and Sony DVD Architect Pro to create bluray discs.

I am having trouble with sony recognising anything M4P to come out of CS5 to date.

Tonight, I output a MPEG-Bluray at 25Mbps (1920x1080, 25i) and it imported ok, but cannot get the M4P file working

The M4P file also failed to open in Quicktime which leads me to think that CS5 is the problem.

As the MPEG4 file format is superior to the MPG2 file I am at a loss as to why it doesn't come out with the standard H254-bluray setting.

Anyone able to assist on this?

• 1. Re: Bluray H264 specs
          davidbeisner2010 Level 3

Never used the Sony DVD Authoring program, but why not just use Encore with Dynamic Link? I know that works great for Blu-ray...

• 2. Re: Bluray H264 specs
            Ausdigital Level 1

I have never used Encore before, does it support Bluray authoring with Java?  Pop Up menus etc?

As I have Sony DVD Architect, I would prefer Premiere Pro CS5 to at least output a file format that I can use with what I currently have.

So, anyone out there with the correct Bluray specs that I should be outputting please advise.

There is little information, even less that seems dubious, about the specs required.  I have read that 25i for PAL should work, 25p will not.  50p will not, 60p for NTSC or 30i should work.  24 frames should work as progressive.  So much misinformation available.

• 3. Re: Bluray H264 specs
              shooternz Level 6
              As I have Sony DVD Architect, I would prefer Premiere Pro CS5 to at least output a file format that I can use with what I currently have.

So why doesnt Sony DVD Architect tell you what you require?

PPRO Users would most likely direct link to Encore and use the BluRay presets provided.

• 4. Re: Bluray H264 specs
                Ausdigital Level 1