5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2010 8:55 PM by richardrock

Looking for feedback on my 1st PC build for CS5

Coltsman33

I'm new to all of this, but I've been researching and reading these helpful forums in preparation for my first PC build strictly for CS5 (mainly PP).  FYI, I'm a complete novice, not a professional... that was repetitiously redundant.  I use an XL1s to record sporting events of my kids and have been asked to start videoing all sporting events at our public schools. I need a dedicated editing system; I anticipate expanding in the future.

TO MY POINT: can you please give me some feedback on the following system specs?  I'd like to stay as close to $2k (not including monitors which I already have).  Thank you in advance for helping me get the most bang for my buck.

• MoBo:               Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R 

(is there a better one out there for around the same or a little more money that you'd recommend?)
    •  

Processor:         Intel Core i7 950; 3.06GHz; 4,8GT/s LGA1366; 8MB Cache

(from what I've read, the i7 980X provides about 40% increase in performance... but with 3x the price.  Also, I'm not editing HD yet)

• RAM:                 DDR3 12GB (for now) 1600MHz TRI P; 3x4GB Modules, PATRIOT; Viper II Sector 7 Series
    • GPU:                 EVGA GTX470

(need some help here: is it worth the 480? Performance vs cost difference?  Any better options?  Someone suggested buying 2 460 cards... would be cheaper than one 470.)

• Tower:               CM HAF 932 ATX Full Tower - $139.99 @ Fry's

(I saw a Corsair Obsidian Series 800D Full Tower ATX Case which was much bigger - $269.99.  Would this give me that much more expandability in future?)

•  

• Power:               Thermaltake TR2 850W

• DVD-RW            LITE-ON 24X SATA DVD-RW; GEN II

Hard Drive(s):     HELP???       Solid State Drive for OS & Programs???  RAID 0, 5, ?

Thanks again for your input

• 1. Re: Looking for feedback on my 1st PC build for CS5
          richardrock