10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2007 8:59 AM by Greg Dove

comparing angles

Level 7
      I have a need to compare angles in a project I'm working on.

For example I have an angle, say 180 degrees. I then want to check if
      another angle is within 45 degress either side of this angle. that's easy
      enough, I can check if my angle is less than 225 and greater than 135. But
      this falls apart when the angle to check against is for example 0 degress. I
      then need to check if my angle is less than 45 and greater than 315, which
      mathematically it can't be.

Anyone have any ideas how to solve this, sure would appreciate the help.

Thanks

Dave

• 1. Re: comparing angles
          cicnats
          Have you tried getting the difference in angles first, and than checking if it's absolute value is less or greater than the desired angle (45)? A way to get the difference could be just to subtract the angles, and then move that difference to the -180..180 range (by adding or subtracting 360) ..

I'm not sure if this is entirely correct, i haven't tried it right now. I remember I needed to check angles for a project or two, but am too lazy to go find where that was ;)
          • 2. Re: comparing angles
            Level 7
            I'm trying to throw some numbers at this, but really can't see how it's
            going to work.

Any other ideas

Thanks for replying

"cicnats" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
            news:f77ilt$j3p$1@forums.macromedia.com...
            > Have you tried getting the difference in angles first, and than checking
            > if
            > it's absolute value is less or greater than the desired angle (45)? A way
            > to
            > get the difference could be just to subtract the angles, and then move
            > that
            > difference to the -180..180 range (by adding or subtracting 360) ..
            >