6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2010 9:20 AM by nharman Branched from an earlier discussion.

SSDs

Coltsman33

SSD's are not yet an economical alternative for  conventional hard disks, with prices that are a factor 30 - 50 higher  per gigabyte than conventional disks.

To date, would this still hold true.  I'm building a machine for PPro and I'm trying to decide if it's worth the extra to buy a SSD for OS & Programs or to just go ahead with a SATA WD 120+ GB drive.  I'd love some feedback.

FYI, this is what I'm looking at... open to suggestions as well:

CPU: i7 950; 3.06GHz; 4.8GT/s LGA 1366 8mb Cache

MoBo: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R; 3 CH DDR3

GPU: EVGA GTX470 1280mb; I'm open to better cards if they are out there and worth the extra $

DDR3 12GB 1600MHz; 3X4GB Modules, PATRIOT Viper II Sector 7 Series (is Patriot any good)

Thermaltake TR2 RX 850W

Case: Corsair Obsidian 800D ATX Full Tower

Hard Drive Setup: I'm still studying you guru's... any suggestions

Jay

• 1. Re: SSDs
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Let's compare two options, using today's prices over here:

1. Samsung Spinpoint F4 320 GB for around € 30, or

2. SSD with 120 GB capacity around € 190

The read speed of the SSD will be about twice as fast as the F4, but the write speed can be slower, for instance the Intel X25M.

If you were to use 2 F4's in raid0, the read speed would be comparable to SSD and the write speed similar to the fastest SSD but faster than the majority of SSD.