5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2010 12:22 AM by denials

Video playback questions

denials

Hi. I'm very new to Flash catalyst and am making a simple website. For my intro/splash page I've got a 5 mb F4V video that I made in in After Effects. This video autoplays when the site loads and fades out into the first real page. I'm having two problems --

1. There's what appears to be a loading bar or perhaps a video player frame that appears briefly before the video begins autoplaying. I tried making the F4V much smaller (around 600k) but I still see the same bar for the same amount of time (a fraction of a second).

2. The video resets to the first frame and stops before fading out. I want it to fade as it is ending or at least freeze on the final frame before fading out. I do not have the video set to loop, only to autoplay. I probably am misunderstanding how to use the timeline but am not sure how to correct this.

Thanks for any help and for not saying -- did you search the site for this?? I can't figure out how to limit a search to the flash catalyst forum. But that's a question for another post.

• 1. Re: Video playback questions
          Tsvetan Stoykov

Hi,

1. I think that you can't remove the loading bar and this is something like embedded preloader in Catalyst. I get it on every Catalyst project that I make.

2. I'm not sure that I understand your question completely, but if your problem is that the video doesn't fade into the next state, this is my possible solution - If you make the auto start with the "on application start" command and set it to go to, let say, state 1 and play the video. try to make it to play the video on state 1 first, and then add go to frame 2 command.

Good luck!

• 2. Re: Video playback questions
            Peter Flynn (Adobe) Adobe Employee