5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2010 12:34 PM by jendehaan

Ease in/out not intuitive

tallscot Level 1

Hello,

I've been using animation applications for about 20 years now and, for whatever reason, Flash CS5's ease in/out feature has got me stumped.

I have a simple text Movieclip that comes from the left, off stage, and moves to the right onto the stage and stops. I want to ease it so it slows down to a stop.

I'm using Flash CS5 with the new tween.

When I click on the tween in the timeline, the ease property in the Properties Inspector doesn't give me what I want. If I put 100, it comes in and stops hard. If I give it a -100, it slowly accelerates to full speed and then stops suddenly.

I've read the tutorial for the new Motion Editor in Flash and it doesn't work like any other motion editor I've used, including Adobe's own After Effects. Normally, you would just click on the graph's line and then curve it with a pen tool or right-click on select bezier...

Thank you for your time.

• 1. Re: Ease in/out not intuitive
          jendehaan Level 4

Hey there,

The property inspector applies ease across the entire tween span, so you're correct that it's not going to give you what you're after. One of the things about the new tweens is it's applying the animation to an entire object, which gives us complexities about trying to do things like ease between property keyframes. We know we need to make this workflow better, and have many ideas around this, hopefully it'll be a reality in a future release soon.