2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2010 2:14 PM by SPGAnne

Desperate!  Getting Error #1009 with SharedObject

SPGAnne

I am using a SharedObject with Flex that stores a class I have defined as a [RemoteObject].  It is a very complex class with lots of properties that in turn contain (e.g., ArrayCollections and Objects) classes that are also defined as [RemoteObject].   I have been using this set up for many months now, and all of a sudden, when I use the .getLocal to read in the object, I am getting a pile of errors: TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.

I don't know what I changed/did to cause this.  I've tried restoring back to code before this happened and I am still getting them.  I can't figure out how to use the debugger to see what is causing it.  I have tried using try/catch on the .getLocal method.  I have tried listening for the AsyncErrorEvent on the SharedObject.  But I can't seem to get a breakpoint to happen while the object is being read in.   How do I put a breakpoint into my code somewhere so that I can see what is causing this error.

Thanks very much in advance to anyone who can help.

P.S.  I am on Flex 3 using FlexBuilder 3.

• 1. Re: Desperate!  Getting Error #1009 with SharedObject
          Darrell Loverin Level 4

Here's a tutorial on using the Flex Builder debugger. http://learn.adobe.com/wiki/display/Flex/3g.+Debug+your+application

Hopefully this will get you started.

-Darrell

• 2. Re: Desperate!  Getting Error #1009 with SharedObject
            SPGAnne Level 1

I will check out tutorial later...one can always pick up new tips and techniques with such things.