11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2011 8:47 AM by Jeremy Knudsen

Is there any way to get a Photoshop panel to receive real-time color updates?

pixelG Level 1

Hello CS SDK Community!

I am hoping I can tap into your expert knowledge here as I am by no means an expert (still intellectually curious and always wanting to learn). I've been able to successfully build a couple panels and write some useful scripts for Photoshop. But up until now, I wouldn't say I have done anything overly ambitious. Now, I am ready take that next step.

I am now developing a Photoshop panel that does some calculations and analysis between foreground and background colors. But I need to figure out a way for my panel to receive real-time updates of foreground and background colors, but I honestly don't know how or where to start. More specifically, I would like my panel to receive these kinds of events so that I can update the associated color value from Photoshop:

1. Foreground and background color change events to keep in sync with Photoshop's foreground and background colors:
        fgbgColors.png
      2. Events associated with Photoshop's color picker dialog and how the panel can get the "new color" value (before the user clicks OK):
        colorPicker.png
      3. The color that is under the mouse cursor (real-time color data as can be seen in the INFO pane):
        infoPane.png

Thank you in advance for any help you might be able to provide!

Jeremy

• 1. Re: Is there any way to get a Photoshop panel to receive real-time color updates?
          zak.nelson Level 3

I'd start by using the ScriptListener plugin to see if Photoshop fires the events you're interested in (my hunch is that your last two events are not available). This page: http://cssdk.host.adobe.com/sdk/1.0/docs/WebHelp/app_notes/photoshop.htm has a decent step-by-step on how to listen for events using the CS SDK in Photoshop.

Zak

1 person found this helpful