12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2010 2:25 PM by Steve Grisetti

How to get MiniDVD footage on to DVD?

agreen01 Level 1

Using the latest Premiere Elements trial, with Windows 7.

I'm new to Premiere Elements, but I need to copy 4x sides of miniDVD footage (max. 80mins total) to DVD, and then burn multiple copies to pass to family.

Is that something I can do in Premiere Elements?  What's the best way to do that?

Many thanks.

• 1. Re: How to get MiniDVD footage on to DVD?
          the_wine_snob Level 9
          I need to copy 4x sides of miniDVD footage

I am not following your needs here, but in general, one would set up a DVD/Hard Drive Camera Project in PrE, then use the program to Get Media from the mini DVD. This will come into the program as VOB (MPEG-2) material. One would then edit that footage, and create Menus (or AutoPlay) and Burn to Disc. For multiple copies, I like doing a Burn to Folder instead, and then using the great, free utility, ImgBurn, to do the physical Burn from that VIDEO_TS folder.

Be sure to use high-quality blank media, like Verbatim, or Taiyo Yuden, and burn at less than max speed (ImgBurn will allow this, but PrE will not).

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: How to get MiniDVD footage on to DVD?
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Just to add to what Bill says, make sure your miniDVD is finalized in your camcorder before you try to add the files to Premiere Elements. Otherwise it won't go.

Then just put the disc in your computer's disc drive and, as Bill says, use Get Media/from DVD Camcorders or DVD Drive to rip the files from the disc to your computer. (And, as Bill says, ensure you're using the Hard Drive Camcorder project preset or you'll run into problems later.)

• 3. Re: How to get MiniDVD footage on to DVD?
              the_wine_snob Level 9