5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2007 9:41 AM by kglad

AS3 : How to target sub-MC of loaded movie clip?

CPruittCCB Level 1
      Hey everyone. I'm new to AS3 and very... very lost (Last time I did much with flash was Flash 5).

Short version: I'm trying to load an external .swf from a URL and add event handlers to the movie clips (or it's movie clips sub-MCs) on its stage. I can't find a THING online on how to do this.

Details:

I've been tasked by my employer to build a simple control interface in flash, with just a few buttons to do things like display some info or images or maybe an associated MP3. I've written little test apps to do all of these individual things & managed to fake my way through.

But the sticking point is that I'm now trying to place all the UI controls into an external .swf, which I then load into the canvas by a URL. The goal is to be able to load it into a variable named, say, 'private _ui:MovieClip' and then add event handlers to mivie clips within that by name like:

_ui.someButton1.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP, handlerFunction1);
      _ui.controlStrip.someButton2.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP, handlerFunction2);

The goal is that if we want to swap out the UI for a particular client, we just export a new .swf with all the correctly named MC instances & use the new URL to load the UI.

I seem to be able to load the .swf OK and trace the movie clips "Main Timeline" like so:

_ui2.contentLoaderInfo.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE , uiDidLoad);
      function uiDidLoad(evt:Event){
      trace("UI2 LOADED");
      if(_ui2.content){
      addChild(_ui2);
      trace(_ui2.content); //--> [object MovieClip]
      // Target the "ControlStrip" named instance on the loaded .swf's main timeline
      trace(_ui2.content.controlStrip); //--> ERROR
      }
      }

Can anyone point me in the right direction here? I've spent hours making no headway on this. I think I've read half of adobe's website so far. :-(

- Cliff