5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2010 9:27 AM by Harm Millaard

MSI Nvidia N470GTX and MPE

Anthony Freeman 99 Level 1

Hi All,

Please can you help me. I would like to build my own video editing system using CS5. I have been shooting and editing wedding videos for 15 yrs. (please see www.freemanproductions.co.za) . It as all been SD up until now, and we would like to purchase a sony nxcam which shoots in the AVCHD format. I would need to edit this nativley without having to transcode. I am about to research building my own PC system. (We have an 8 core mac pro 2.8ghz with FCP, and I am very disillusioned with FCP lack of development as far as AVCHD and bluray is concerned)

The only graphics card that I can find here in South Africa that resembles an approved CUDA card for realtime MPE activation is the MSI Nvidia N470GTX. (1.2 Gb 320bit GDDR5 3348Mhz memory)

Can anyone please tell me with certainty whether this card will "work" on Premier CS5?  By "work" I mean activate the MPE, and allow me to edit at least 3 tracks of AVCHD natively.

Your help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards

Anthony

• 1. Re: MSI Nvidia N470GTX and MPE
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Anthony,

For PC a definite yes, for MAC

Have a look here: http://forums.adobe.com/community/premiere/hardware_forum?view=overview

In the drop down box there may be articles of interest to you.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: MSI Nvidia N470GTX and MPE

Dear Harm,

Thank you very much for the response.

Im so sorry to be troubling you with the questions below, but unfortunately

I just don’t have access to people locally whom I can direct my questions

to, and you have probably seen these question on myriad occasions. I would

be very grateful if you could advise me.

As discussed we do a lot of wedding videographey, each video is about 3 hrs

in length shot on 2 cameras we can do up to 10 a month. (The reason that I