2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2010 1:07 PM by EdAnson13

Set session duration?

EdAnson13

I just created my first session in Audition. I imported two files into two tracks. Although each file is just over an hour long, and they are lined up at the start time, the session shows a length of over eight hours. I would like to trim that to the length of the tracks, since I do not plan to extend it and it would be more convenient to work with if the session ended at the end of the sound. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find a way to do that. What am I missing?

BTW: I am new to Audition, but I am having a good time learning it.

• 1. Re: Set session duration?
          Jayx35mm

Let me guess: you've previously used Pro Tools, or some other click/measure-guided software before taking up Audition. Join the club!

When starting with Adobe Audition, one of the most important things to learn is how the edit track mode and the multitrack mode work together. When recording voiceovers, edit track is usually the preferred recording view. If you're recording a song with instruments, multitrack view is usually used. Either way, both views allow you to send a clip from one view to the other: edit to multitrack by right clicking and selecting "send to multitrack", or multi to edit view by double clicking an audio clip in multitrack view. Many multitrack recording programs expect you to do all of your editing solely in the multitrack and mixing views. In Audition you can edit in both these familiar multi and mixer modes as well- but the edit track view is an important addition unique to Audition.