8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2010 11:05 AM by whiteskysea

Upgrade Q9550 system or Build new i7 950 system?

whiteskysea

Hoping someone can help with yet another upgrade or build question!

I am new to NLEs but am a fan of Adobe CS suites and plan to use CS5 Premiere and AE.  I am a hobbyist rather than a pro but I take my hobbies pretty seriously :-).  I intend to create shorts out of my video footage from DSLRs using either AVCHD or m264.  I would like my NLE system to run smoothly with multiple windows and programs (e.g., PR, PS, etc) open and I am pretty impatient when it comes to waiting for systems to process/load, etc.

It will not be used for gaming of any kind.  It must run very stably.  I never experience BSODs and I don't want to in future!

Here are the two options I am considering:

OPTION ONE:  Upgrade existing machine

CPU:           Q9950  (existing)

Mobo:          socket 775 Asus board  (existing)

Vid card:      upgrade to GTX470 (from Radeon 4850)

RAM:           add 4MB for total of 8MB max for board (1600, 99924)

OS:             create new boot disc running Win7 64  (new..currently XP)

HDD:           128GB SSD boot (new)

HDD:           Caviar black drives for media, etc.  (existing)

PSU:           620HX  (existing)

OPTION TWO:  Build new box

CPU:            i7 950 (pretty good price now)

Mobo:          Asus P6X58D Prem

Vid card:      GTX470

RAM:           12MB (1600, 99924, Corsair)

OS               Win7 64

HDD:           128GB SSD boot

HDD:           Caviar black drives for media, etc.  (existing)

PSU:           850HX

Questions:

- Overall, is the extra cost of Option Two worth it?  How much improvement would I expect?

- Is the GTX470 worth it relative to my existing Radeon 4850 board?

- Is the SSD worth it as a boot drive at $265?

- Is the larger PSU necessary?

- Any other thoughts on either configuration?

Thanks in advance for any feedback!