10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2010 1:06 AM by drkstr_1

FlexGlobals.topLevelApplication and SWFLoader Issue

DanieSpreeth

Hi All,

Im currently sitting with an issue which I am pretty sure there should be an easy solution to, but I am new to Flex and AS.

I developed a small Flex project which compiles into a SWF (Flex 4 & AS 3). When running this SWF by itself, it works perfectly.

Then I created another project with a SWFLoader, and I loaded the small SWF into this. When running this I am getting errors, because in one of the classes of the original project which works when running by itself (not hosted) I am using references to "FlexGlobals.topLevelApplication".

When running the original SWF by itself, "FlexGlobals.topLevelApplication" return the correct values, but when running it as a hosted app via SWFLoader, "FlexGlobals.topLevelApplication" references the parent app, not the hosted app.

How do I change the code to ALWAYS refer to the "current" swf, not the one which it is being hosted in. I need this SWF to work both by itself AND hosted in another swf using SWFloader.

I hope I described the issue in such a way that you understand what I am getting at.

Using parentApplication instead of topLevelApplication also does not work since that also references the parent instead of the "current".

Help would be appreciated!

Danie Spreeth

• 1. Re: FlexGlobals.topLevelApplication and SWFLoader Issue
          Flex harUI Adobe Employee

You can load into a sibling applicationdomain using Marshall Plan techniques

or walk the document/parentDocument chain until you hit the application.  It

depends a bit on what your code is actually going to do

• 2. Re: FlexGlobals.topLevelApplication and SWFLoader Issue
            DanieSpreeth Level 1

Hi!

Thanks for the response - this has now become a major impediment for me...