27 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2010 8:10 PM by Colin Brougham

P2 Card Video/Audio Separate?

JVKPRO

Hey everyone, I'm new to P2 footage and have recently shot on the HVX. Now first thing I notice, is that the audio and video are separate. Why is that? Is there a way in premiere to sync them up without linking every clip? Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: P2 Card Video/Audio Separate?
          Colin Brougham Level 6

You can use the Media Browser to navigate to your P2 CONTENTS folder; Premiere will show the files as movie clips and you can drag them into your project. You can also use a standard import process and just select the video clips; Premiere will bring the audio in as well.

• 2. Re: P2 Card Video/Audio Separate?
            Jim_Simon Level 8

Why is that?

The short answer is, Panasonic screwed up.  The MXF format was designed to hold video, several tracks of audio, timecode and other metedata all in a single file.  Yet Panny chose to split these things up unnecessarily, creating the cumbersome folder structure.  Premiere may get around that nicely, but it would still be nice if Panny (and Sony) had done things right from the beginning and created one file per clip, as the newest Canon models are now doing.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: P2 Card Video/Audio Separate?
              Colin Brougham Level 6

Knew this was coming...

• 4. Re: P2 Card Video/Audio Separate?
                Jim_Simon Level 8

You can't say I'm an unpredictable mystery.

Besides, the more people that know the truth, the more that may contact Panasonic and ask them to fix this issue.  The more that do that, the better the chance it'll actually happen.  (Especially now that Canon HAS fixed it.)

• 5. Re: P2 Card Video/Audio Separate?
                  shooternz Level 6

Despite Jim's little rant...it is very very simple to deal with P2@ mxf in PPRO