3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 23, 2010 5:37 AM by Hodmi

looking for api hooks w/o invoking server

ae@lm.doe.gov

hi there,

i'm looking into the automated conversion of millions of pdf's from version 1.0 to 1.4 A/1-b.

i am evaluating multiple ways to do this, and i have no prior experience with livecycle, but i am an experienced programmer. most of these pdf's are quite large (some gigabytes in size) and so i'm looking for a way to use the api without having to invoke a service over the network. i have looked into watched folders, and this maybe the way to go, but i'm really hoping for hooks into an api that basically allows me to open a pdf in place, manipulate it (add, change or remove some parts such as xmp, creator, document id, etc), and then save it as pdf A\1-b. are there any such hooks in the api? if not, would i need to build a custom service that did the above, and then invoke over the network, or have it watch a folder?

basically, i hoping to not to have to use the lc es server.

any thoughts/help are appreciated!

• 1. Re: looking for api hooks w/o invoking server
          Hodmi Level 4

If you're going to be processing millions of large documents in a batch operation, then you really need the power that a server side software suite gives you.

The server is not going to be able to process a document unless its "on the server" (in memory or whatever).  Any service that you invoke (using watch folder, web service, REST, etc.) is going to need the document as a parameter.  Given the size of the documents, the server will most likley also need to write the file to a temporary store while they are being processed.

If, however these millions of documents are coming from millions of sources, then you may want to look at a client based/distrubuted solution.  If that is the case, then LiveCycle may not be the best solution for you.

• 2. Re: looking for api hooks w/o invoking server
            ae@lm.doe.gov Level 1

hi there,