7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2010 6:00 AM by UXdexigner

Find & replace for Symbols?

Any way to do this... like a global symbol swap?  I'm using FW for wireframing and I'm new at Fireworks.

The kind of thing I'm trying to do is develop an interaction scenario one time, and then for example, change all instances of Button1 to Button2 for example, rather than hunting down each one and performing a "swap symbol".  It really seems like it should be a Find&Replace option.

But if there's any "hacky" way to do it I'd be open to it.  Yes I know I could edit the symbol, but if I'm going back and forth between 2 designs that could be tedious.

Thx, Stefan

• 1. Re: Find & replace for Symbols?
          Jim_Babbage Level 4

So, you want the same symbol to look different in two different mockups? Or do you want to globally change the symbol in both mockups, so they look the same?

• 2. Re: Find & replace for Symbols?
            UXdexigner Level 1

It's the same guy, I might have a different screenname now (Adobe kept rejecting my screennames, it was getting frustrating and "dslkfjaoij" just doesn't have a nice ring to it, lol)

Thanks for replying Jim... Not really, it's more like taking a single mockup and swapping out the symbols to kinda re-skin it.  Like if it looked like a Windows app, and you want to replace each symbol with a Mac counterpart.  Or, you're testing a flat-looking wireframe for usability, and later on want to get into aesthetics and fairly quickly bring all the coloured glossy buttons & such into it.  Even if I had to go in and global-replace each type of symbol, (ex. all the vertical sliders) from one type to another it would still be better than going in and swapping every instance.