1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 25, 2010 11:48 PM by Harm Millaard

Mac User Needs Help Choosing Windows Laptop

jrberry63

Hi. I'm a former graphic designer who has been a Mac owner since 1993.

My PowerPC (pre-Intel) G5 is nearing obsoletion and I'm considering switching to a Windows 7 machine because of the budget. However, I know zero about Windows machines as far as configuring/choosing them. I'm very familiar with the CS4/CS5 hardware requirements, and I think I've found a laptop that might let me do what I want to do, which is:

• Write (in Word/Scrivener) up to novel-length documents
      • Surf the web, play Facebook games
      • use CS4 and eventually CS5 on occasion (but not nearly as heavily as before)

The computer that fits my skimpy budget (preferably $500 and under) and seems to meet the hardware requirements is this one:

http://www.circuitcity.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6664036

In brief, it's an HP G61-632NR. Major specs:

• Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit operating system
      • AMD Athlon II Dual-Core M320 2.1GHz processor
      • 3GB of DDR2 memory
      • 500GB hard drive
      • DVD Super Multi Dual Layer Burner
      • Maximum Resolution:             1366 x 768
      • Hard Drive Speed:             7200 RPM
      • GPU/VPU:             ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Graphics
      • (3) USB ports
      • (1) HDMI port
      • (1) VGA port
      • WiFi/LAN/Modem ports

I realize I won't be doing heavy duty video editing or using Cubase—the G5 will work for that for another year or so, I imagine—but it's the only Windows machine with a 7200 RPM hard drive (all the others are 5400). It's the type of processor that concerns me. It's dual-core, but I don't know enough about the PC side to know if an Athlon II is the same as an Athlon Phenom II or an Athlon 64 or... well, you understand.