4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2010 7:31 AM by nealeh

Premiere Elements...a step too much

lupaie

Hi,

Every year I teach hundreds of non-media students how to film and edit using Premiere Elements. Since I am a professional user I have no problems with Premiere Elements at all but I notice that many students find some assets very confusing. So I want to point them out for you guys and hope to start a discussion.

Problem 1) When starting up APE9, or older versions, you need to know what KIND of camera you are using. NOTE: so not the Brand and Model, but the system behind it. For instance: AVCHD 1080i, HDV720p30, DVCAM and more. I know that Adobe says: Read the manual of your camera too see what system your camera uses. But that too is hard for many amateurs. (Especially for students who only loan camera's for a quick filmsession).

Solution 1) In the older Premiere Pro versions you could choose a Brand and then a Model. The settings were automatically adjusted to he corresponding camera. Adding pictures of the camera would only make things even easier. (Sure, it will cost time but it make this package really easier to start) If your camera is not listed, then you can use the current system.

Problem 2) In APE7 I manually created a preset, and I called it SONY BLOGGIE, so that student know what option to pick for their editing. It is a shame that that option is removed from APE9. No more adjusting your settings and saving the preset. Sure...Adobe Prem Pro still features the option but thats no option for my students.

Solution) Please return this feature

--
      Students are asking to work on my current PC now so I'll update the above list asap

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements...a step too much
          nealeh Level 5

This is a user-to-user community forum. Rarely does anyone from Adobe read discussions here. To contact Adobe click their logo at the top of this page. For specific problems and feature requests use this: Adobe - Feature Request/Bug Report Form