4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2010 6:50 PM by Bobm_10

Setting data to a chart

Bobm_10

AS:

Hi All,

I am new to Flex but have a simple question on setting data to a bar chart.  Curious, in the code below the values in my BarChart become all 4 because of the binding to the array?  If MyArray is local to the button click function, won't that become a problem when execution leaves the function since the DataProvider will be pointing to an array that does not exist.  Although it does seem to work fine.  Thanks  Bob

protected function button1_clickHandler(event:MouseEvent):void
         {
          // TODO Auto-generated method stub
          var MyArray : Array = new Array();
          MyArray[0] = 1;
          MyArray[1] = 2;
          MyArray[2] = 3;

series1.dataProvider = MyArray;       

barchart1.invalidateSeriesStyles();

MyArray[0] = 4;
          MyArray[1] = 4;
          MyArray[2] = 4; }

MX:

<mx:BarChart x="27" y="91" id="barchart1" height="259" type="stacked">
        <mx:series>
         <mx:BarSeries id="series1" displayName="Series 1" xField=""/>
         <mx:BarSeries id="series2" displayName="Series 2" xField=""/>
        </mx:series>
      </mx:BarChart>

• 1. Re: Setting data to a chart
          flex2008 Level 3

When you write series1.dataProvider = MyArray,you are actually setting the dataProvider property of the series with the  contents of myArray.So even if the myArray variable goes out of scope,the dataProvider of series will still have the contents,since the dataProvider remains intact.Hope I answered your question.

• 2. Re: Setting data to a chart
            Bobm_10 Level 1

> setting the dataProvider property of the series with the  contents of myArray.<