15 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2010 8:29 AM by the_wine_snob

Out-of-the-Blue Playback Problems

SDCone

Hi there. I've been editing a Canon 5D feature for a couple months now, with very few issues, but am suddenly having playback problems in Maximum View/Full Screen mode. I've watched the full film in 1/2 quality several times now, straight through, but over the course of the past several days I've stopped being able to do that. Now, no matter the quality (this is even happening at 1/4 quality, and fully rendered), playback in full screen is stuttering/dropping frames. To a lesser extent, it's doing it a little bit in the smaller windows, but mostly the source/program monitors are fine.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Stephen

• 1. Re: Out-of-the-Blue Playback Problems
          tclark513 Level 3

Have you upgraded to the latest version? (5.0.2)

• 2. Re: Out-of-the-Blue Playback Problems
            SDCone Level 1

Hmm... Well, I purchased the CS5 upgrade in mid-September so that would've been included, no? Is there a way to check the update status in Premiere?

Thanks!

Stephen

• 3. Re: Out-of-the-Blue Playback Problems
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Stephen,

With PrPro open, go to Help>About and see what version you are running.

To update, you can close everything Adobe, except for Bridge, and go to Help>Update to download and install all available updates.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: Out-of-the-Blue Playback Problems
                SDCone Level 1

Excellent. Will do. If this isn't the issue, however, any other ideas? It really did just start happening out of the blue, and for no seeming reason.

Stephen

• 5. Re: Out-of-the-Blue Playback Problems
                  cvid01 Level 4

Maybe defragmenting your drives may help...??

• 6. Re: Out-of-the-Blue Playback Problems
                    the_wine_snob Level 9

When something works one day, but not the next, then something has changed. Finding out what changed can be a bit of work.