3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2010 8:29 AM by rumspringa00

What size should my imported media in After Effects be?

rumspringa00 Level 1

I have a Premiere Pro file that I am trying to convert to h.264 in After Effects.  I had originally conveted an avi with a non compatible codec for Premiere to understand to a 720x480 dvd vob file for ease of importing.  I didd'nt loose too much quality in the process which I was happy about.

When exporting an HDV 1080p 24 scene from Premiere  to AE for a bit of editing, the new dimensions turned out to be 1440x1080.  After rendering to an h.264 mp4 movie in AE, the end result was crystal clear but the physical size of the live video was about half the size of the original 720x480 vob file I began with.

Idk if the size of the project is 1440 x 1080 and the video itself is smaller like canvas and image sizes in photoshop?  I'm kinda new at this.  

Render Settings

Quality: Best                                                    

Resolution: Full

Size: 1440 x 1080

Proxy Use: Use No Proxies

Effects: Current Settings

Disk Cache: Read Only

Color Depth: Current Settings

Output Module - Custom H.264

Format: H.264                                                   Channels: RGB                                               

Output Info: Main Concept H.264 Video       Depth : Millions of Colors

Bitrate: 3.00 Mbps                      Resize: -

Include: -                                                            Crop: -

Output Audio: 48.000kHz / Stereo                 Final Size: 1440 x 1080             

Profiles: -

Embed Profiles: -

Am I missing a step here or does it have to do with my render and output settings?

Thanks to all,

Dan 

• 1. Re: What size should my imported media in After Effects be?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant