11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2010 9:27 AM by Steve Grisetti

Cutting a timeline

Confused I

This is my first time to every use a program like this.  While working on a video in timeline, I am unable to cut clips that I don't want on my final video.  Any advise on how to do this?

• 1. Re: Cutting a timeline
          nealeh Level 5

Re: PRE9: How to split one clip into two (or more) clips?

Cheers,
          --
          Neale
          Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: Cutting a timeline
            Confused I Level 1

PRE8: I want to delete portion I don't need.

• 3. Re: Cutting a timeline
              nealeh Level 5

Split it as described in the above link, then delete the part you don't want. Muvipix.com has some good (free) tutorials to get you going.

Cheers,
              --
              Neale
              Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 4. Re: Cutting a timeline
                the_wine_snob Level 9

An option to the Cut & Delete method, is to just set the IN & OUT Points of each Clip, where you wish to remove material. This is done in one of two ways: from the Project Panel, or the Timeline, Dbl-click on the Clip, to get it into the Source Monitor, where you can alter the IN & OUT Points, or in the Timeline, by Click-dragging the Head, and/or Tail of the Clip to Trim.