21 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2011 10:56 AM by Powered by Design

Dropped Frames when capturing CS5

ur3838

I have been using CS PPro for several years now and have not had problems with dropped frames while capturing from my mini dv tapes.

But recently, I keep getting dropped frames when the setups are the same as before.  Do not know what happen!!

My system is Dell XPS 35MT core i7 cpu, 6 G RAM, Radeon HD 4850 521MB.  My player is Sony GVHD700 through i link (Firewire), capturing to a 1 T Hitachi hard drive through an USB 2 docking station.  I had no problems with this setup for at least more than 60-70 tapes.

When PPro reported dropped frames, the playback had no problems and had normal pictures on its screen.  But there were pixelated area showing on the PPro capturing monitor. Occasionally, there were so many dropped frames, PPro quits and stops capturing all together.

I changed my USB cable, clean my pc inside with no success.

Any helps will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Message was edited by: ur3838

• 1. Re: Dropped Frames when capturing CS5
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

Have you installed the Premiere Pro CS5 (5.0.2) update? That update fixes a lot of problems.

• 2. Re: Dropped Frames when capturing CS5
            ur3838 Level 1

My cs5 has been updated.  So I do not think it a problem.

Thank you.

• 3. Re: Dropped Frames when capturing CS5
              Harm Millaard Level 7

Try capturing with PR to an internal dedicated HDD, instead of to your backup disk. USB = Universal System Backup. It is not suitable for anything else, especially NOT for editing.

• 4. Re: Dropped Frames when capturing CS5
                jday7757 Level 1