5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2010 12:51 PM by Colin Brougham

Preparing longer clips (interview) for a better overview? – Markers? Subclips? Etc.?

Michael720

Hello! I am new to PP!

I am working with longer clips of interviews (10-20 min) and I would like to prepare them so I get an overview about the passages of each clip that I might use for a sequence later on. - In FCP I could not only set markers in the source! window but also edit/name/colorize them. So I would name many markers after text passages in a clip in the source window.

In PP this seems to be only possible in the sequence window which is too late for an overview.
      Any suggestions? Subclips?

Thank you very much for your help! - Michael

• 1. Re: Preparing longer clips (interview) for a better overview? – Markers? Subclips? Etc.?
          Colin Brougham Level 6

You can subclip for this, but I'm personally not a huge fan of subclips in Premiere, so I usually don't use them. They just act... weird. I guess they are functional, but I usually find that when I attempt to use them, I'm limited and end up having to find work arounds. It's hard to be more specific than that; I was accustomed to subclipping in Avid which works much better.

Despite that glowing review, if you want to subclip, probably the easiest way to do it is to load your source clip into the Source Monitor, mark in and out points, and then hold down Ctrl/Cmd and drag from the Source Monitor back to a bin. This will pop up a dialog letting you name the subclip, and then drop the subclip into the bin. You can continue this way until you've created all your subclips.

As far as markers go, I think you're correct: I don't believe there is a way to add named markers to a clip in the Source Monitor. I'm not positive about this, as I've never tried to do that. As far as I'm aware, the only markers that can be named are sequence markers. You might want to make a feature request here: Adobe - Feature Request/Bug Report Form