12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2010 3:36 PM by the_wine_snob

Which is "better" when converting from VOB: MPG, AVI or DV or ???

rodmartel

Hi,

I am not a techie, but following the advice of posted by Steve Grisette, I was able to download the software from Squared5, which allows me to convert my old VOB's into other formats. For some reason, I chose the MPEG conversion and they do play in my 9.0. I have other choices. I think Steve suggested the AVI format.

Can someone succinctly me tell me what is the bottom line for someone who wants to import VOB files and edit them eventually and restore them because the color on the 1950's film had washed out. Which is best?

Many thanks!

Rod

• 1. Re: Which is "better" when converting from VOB: MPG, AVI or DV or ???
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

For standard definition video, the Type 2 DV-AVI is far and away the best choice, Rod.

This FAQ should help you with the specific settings for MPEG Streamclip as well as a couple of other programs.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/415317?tstart=0

And how nice to hear that my advice has been of some help!

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Which is "better" when converting from VOB: MPG, AVI or DV or ???
            the_wine_snob Level 9

As Steve points out, DV-AVI Type II is the best. The main reasons for this are:

• You already have one MPEG-2 compression, when producing those VOB's, and you want to keep the number of MPEG-2 compressions to a bare minimum. You will likely do one more, when you Export/Share, if you are going to end up with a DVD.
            • MPEG-2 material uses GOP (Group of Pictures), and PrE edits I-frame, so the program will have to do an internal conversion from MPEG-2 to basically DV-AVI Type II, and that takes resources. This ARTICLE will go into more detail on GOP structure.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Which is "better" when converting from VOB: MPG, AVI or DV or ???
              rodmartel Level 1