17 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2010 8:53 AM by ablichter

Camera Raw cache size and location

Yammer Level 4

I've been using ACR for about 3 years now, and today it occurred to me that I'm not that sure I know what the cache is actually used for. I mean, I know what a cache is, but what is ACR caching, and why?

I use Bridge for most of my photo work, displaying high quality thumbnails and previews, often full-screen ("monitor-sized previews" by default). Bridge has its own cache, which I understand contains jpegs of thumbnails, previews, and 100% views. Does ACR's cache have any bearing on Bridge's behaviour and performance, especially with thousands of raw images?

What sort of size and location of ACR cache should I be using - what factors do I need to consider?

• 1. Re: Camera Raw cache size and location
          ablichter Level 2

When a RAW first time was opened by ACR, the first part of the processing (decoding, decompressing, linearizing, and demosaicing) is stored in the ACR cache.

Your specific ACR settings are either stored in the Camera Raw Database => C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\CameraRaw\Database or in xmp sidecar files.

Does ACR's cache have any bearing on Bridge's behaviour and performance, especially with thousands of raw images?

Depends.

When Bridges renders its own cached previews, it needs to call ACR to do so, by this ACR data is written to the ACR cache.

So as long there are already cached previews in the Bridges cache, it seems the ACR cache is not touched anymore and might be deleted. But have in mind that only 240px and 1024px previews are cached by default in Bridges cache. The full screen previews are generated on the fly when chosing full screen and you zoom in. So latest than the ACR cache is rebuild.