6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2007 8:01 AM by MLK_SS

Trynig to access a variable in another mxml

bitwyse Level 1
      Hi All,

I'm looking for some guidance here as I am new to Flex. I have a datagrid with two colums at the end that contain item renderers. The idea is to allow the user to cick an edit or delete icon to edit or delete that row. I"m using a component mxml file for each renderer and can not figure out how to access values from the calling application. Since all my web service code etc. is in the parent application, I need to figure out how to access it.

I have been reading various books and blogs and have tried setting up an event handler in both mxml files but I am unable to get the parent mxml to get the event. Below is some sample code. Any ideas?

This is the component mxml file . . .
      <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:HBox xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" horizontalAlign="center">

<mx:Metadata>
      [Event( name = "editCurrentHandler", type = "flash.events.Event" ) ]
      </mx:Metadata>

<mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      private function clickHandler() : void
      {
      import mx.controls.Alert;

Alert.show( "Called clickHandler in edit item renderer" );

var eventObj:Event = new Event( "editCurrentHandler" );
      dispatchEvent( eventObj );
      }
      ]]>
      </mx:Script>
      <mx:Image id="imageDelete" source="images/bluepencil.gif" width="20" click="clickHandler()"/>
      </mx:HBox>

This is an excerpt of the parent mxml file . . .
      private function initApp() : void
      {
      wsProjectInformation.getControlsProjects.send();
      addEventListener( "editCurrentHandler", editCurrentHandler );
      addEventListener( "deleteCurrentHandler", deleteCurrentHandler );

}

public function editCurrentHandler() : void
      {
      Alert.show( "Edit was clicked!" );
      }

public function deleteCurrentHandler() : void
      {
      Alert.show( "Delete was clicked!" );
      }