6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2010 11:03 PM by Chaafii

Understanding Override?

Chaafii

Hi, I'm new to Flex, but have some programming experience.  I'm currently working through a tutorial on Flash game development with Flex and I've seen something that has me baffled.  There's a certain subclass function that overrides a function of the parent.  In it, there's a line that reads, "this.shutdown();".  Now there's no shutdown function in the subclass, but there is in the parent class and I've used the Alert control to determine that it's being called.

Am I to understand that a "this" reference in an overriding function refers to the object of the function that's being overridden?

If so, this would suggest that the overriding function doesn't just accept outside calls to the overridden function, but that it actually overwrites it.  I could accept that but I've seen cases where an overriding function calls the overridden function for some basic logic before implementing the more specific logic of the subclass.

Can someone please help me get a handle on this abstract, cuz it's hurting my head.

Cheers

• 1. Re: Understanding Override?
          Lee Burrows Level 4

hi

when you create a subclass, it inherits all the methods of its super class (its parent, in your terms) - you can optionally use override to redefine a super class method in the subclass

in your example, if shutdown() doesn't appear (i.e. doesn't get overridden) in the subclass then it will get called on the super class instead - so yes, override does replace the super class method.

if you override a method, you can still call the 'parent' method by using super

eg: super.myMethodName(arg1, arg2);

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Understanding Override?
            Chaafii Level 1

Ok, it helps me if I can see it in my head as a model.  So, if I understand correctly, for the following simple example...

--------------------------------------------------------

package

{