3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2010 3:12 PM by Harm Millaard

P6T7 WS SuperComputer to 24 gb?

Grecco32

Hi Harm!

Iam new to using forums, so I apologize in advance if I post or do something the wrong way.

All the memory out there seems to have slow timings.  I have 12 gb now and would like to upgrade to 24 gb.  Does some one have this set-up running with 24 and what types of memory sticks are being used?  I realize they are Hexa sets of tripple chip.  What I am looking for is mfg and part #.  If it makes sense to use 1600 so that I can over-clock processor and memory.  I have never done this before.  Is it worth the difference in price?

I have a I7975 Extreme processor.

Thanks for any asssistance you can offer.

• 1. Re: P6T7 WS SuperComputer to 24 gb?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

First of all, welcome to the forum.

There are many brands of suitable memory and many types that will work in 24 GB configurations, if you have at least Win7-64 Pro. If you have the Home veriosn you are out of luck, because no more than 16 GB is supported.

Brands to have a look at are Corsair, G.Skill, Mushkin and OCZ.

I would first look at the clock speed, DDR3-1600 is better than DDR3-1333 and next at the timings, with lower CAS latenciy being better.

Specific names that come to mind are Corsair Dominator, G.Skill Trident or RipJaws, OCZ Reaper or Platimum.

Be aware that some memory modules have such large cooling fins, that your current CPU coooler may no longer fit.

• 2. Re: P6T7 WS SuperComputer to 24 gb?
            Grecco32 Level 1

Hi Harm!